#NaBloPoMo

In an effort to jumpstart a blogging routine I just can’t seem to get into, I’m going to take part in #NaBloPoMo! What is NaBloPoMo you ask? Why it’s National Blog Posting Month! WordPress provides daily prompts and today’s prompt is

“When was the last time you felt really, truly lonely?”

This prompt makes me feel so blessed because, while I may have days where I think I’m lonely and sad, I’m truly lucky to have so many wonderful people in my life that I haven’t had to experience true loneliness.

Just a few weeks ago, I thought I was feeling really lonely, having just moved to a new city and missing all our friends coming off of September’s wedding high. I was traveling for work consistently for a few months while simultaneously packing up, moving, unpacking, adjusting to a new routine and feeling overwhelmed by it all. What didn’t help was the my best friend was on her honeymoon and couldn’t talk for 2 weeks (!) and my husband was occupied adjusting to his new life with schoolwork and a brand new social circle. I was starting to feel pretty anxious and lonely, so on a Monday morning, while waiting for a delayed flight, I finally bought myself a copy of Gretchen Rubin’s The Happiness Project.

I started reading it right away and it was like I was reading a book I didn’t remember writing. Everything she was saying seemed to echo my own inner voice. That connection I had with the book really brought me out of my slump. That’s not to say I’m not still feeling overwhelmed and anxious at times (I totally blame work for this one now), or that I’m spending enough time on my own happiness project, but it did remind me to stop and remember how blessed I am and that I’m in control of how good I feel about every situation.

So that’s what I’ve been doing, counting my blessing every day, and feeling thankful that I have these 2 cuddled up next to me every night.

My favorite boys in my new favorite park during my favorite time of year!

My favorite boys in my new favorite park during my favorite time of year!

 

xoxo Amanda

One thought on “#NaBloPoMo

Please feel free to leave a comment!

